Electric bikes, or e-bikes for short, have become extremely popular in Southern California. As a report from NBC 7 San Diego points out, the cities of Carlsbad and Encinitas recently declared states of emergency due to deaths in e-bike crashes. Both adults and children alike are suffering serious and fatal injuries in collisions involving these forms of transportation, and while they remain popular and accessible, state legislators in California want to change the rules concerning their legality. In short, a new bill that remains before the state legislature “would prohibit kids under 12 from riding e-bikes and require an online test and license.”
As the report underscores, the new bill is designed to “tighten e-bike rules” and to make it more difficult for riders to use e-bikes without any kind of safety training or knowledge. Our San Clemente personal injury attorneys can tell you more.
Learning More About E-Bikes and Injury Risks in San Diego County
Whether you are in San Clemente or elsewhere in San Diego County, you probably see e-bike riders on the road, on paths, and even sometimes on sidewalks where they are not supposed to be riding. A recent article in the Los Angeles Times reported that speeding is a major issue in e-bike collisions. Although the speed limit is set in the single digits for most e-bikes in certain beach areas, for example, many riders are clocked at speeds of more than 20 miles per hour, and many e-bikes reach speeds of up to nearly 30 miles per hour. When an e-bike rider speeds, they can injure themselves and other e-bike owners or renters, as well as pedestrians, skateboarders, and regular bicyclists.
Common injuries include but are not limited to:
- Traumatic brain injuries (TBIs), which include concussions;
- Severe abrasions;
- Severe lacerations;
- Crush injuries;
- Broken bones; and
- Traumatic amputations.
Text of the Proposed Bill
The proposed bill to restrict e-bike use to riders aged 12 and older and to those who are properly licensed was introduced several months ago and remains before the state legislature. It is not yet clear whether the bill will pass, but if it were to, it would essentially create a type of driver’s license requirement to ride an e-bike lawfully in California.
In addition to the age requirement for e-bike use, AB-530, the proposed law, “would create an e-bike license program with an online written test and a state-issued photo identification for those persons without a valid driver’s license.” The aim of the bill is to reduce injuries and to make e-bike riding safer throughout the state.
Contact a San Clemente E-Bike Injury Lawyer Today
If you were injured by a negligent e-bike rider, or if you were struck by a vehicle or otherwise injured while riding an e-bike, you could be eligible to file a claim for compensation. E-bike injuries are on the rise in Southern California, but one of our experienced San Clemente e-bike injury attorneys can help you seek the compensation you need. Contact the Walton Law Firm to get started on your claim.
See Related Blog Posts: